Category Archives: Municipal Records

Correspondence, Minutes, Inquires, Alms House/Poor Farm records, etc

Candidates & Electors Names

Candidates: John C. Wade, Francis Bourneuf, Charles Budd & James B. Holdsworth.  5 pages listing names and their vote.

Bio on John Chipman Wade

Bio on Francois Lambert-Bourneuf

Bio on Charles Budd

Bio on James Bourne Holdsworth

Accession Number: 1990.112.07

Location: Archival Closet; Archival Box Labelled “Misc. Records #4”


List of Constables July Term 1837

List of Constables July Term 1837
Edward Leonard, William McCormick, Thomas Tobin, William Moore, Edward Marshall,  Thomas Kiley, Jacob Dakin, James Marshall, Robert Jones, Joseph Shortliff, Charles Everett, Timothy Brooks, Moses Healy, William Aymar, Robert Haines, James Jones, Gilbert Post, James John, Robert Timpany, Edward Burnes, Charles Morehouse, George Denton, Thomas Dakin, John Letteney, Robert Turnbull, William Warrington, Ebenezer Rice, Frederick Sulis, William Mullen, Stephan Harris.

Accession Number: 2000.42.17

Location: Archival Closet; Archival box labelled “Misc. Records #4”.

Memorandum of Agreement regarding Bridgetown Asylum

Memorandum of Agreement between Municipality of Annapolis and Municipality of Digby regarding Asylum.

Erected building, 1886, in Bridgetown to be used as an Asylum. Agreement for the Municipality of Digby to place persons here who are at this time maintained at the Provincial Asylum in Dartmouth, as well as other like persons who may from time-to-time become chargeable.   Agreement passed the 19th day of April 1895 and the 8th  day of May 1895.
Signed by
James P. Roop, Warden Annapolis
O. Daniels, Clerk Annapolis
N. R. Westcott, Warden of Municipality of Digby
W. B. Stewart, Clerk, Municipality of Digby

Date: June 29, 1895

Accession Number: 2000.42.08

Location: Archival Closet; Archival box labelled “Misc. Records #4”

Correspondence: Wm. Reynolds to Municipal Clerk Digby

Correspondence on Provincial Secretary’s Office letterhead from Hon. Pro. Secretary to the Digby Municipal Clerk regarding Road Grant showing the sum of $2095.89 credit of the Municipality of Digby for the current year.  Signed by Wm. Reynolds

Date: April 14, 1890, Halifax

Accession Number: 2000.42.05

Location: Archival Closet; Archival box labelled “Misc. Records #4”

Return of Revisors Jury List for Digby County for the Year 1868

Revised Jury List for Digby County…The Within document shows a complete list of Grand and Petit Jurors Revised by the undersigned duly appointed committee, and sworn to the faithful discharge of their duties for the year of our Lord 1868.  L. McKay, Geo. Henderson, B. Ruggles, William Lent, John Dakin, Potter, William Denton.

Date: 1868

Accession Number: 2000.02

Location: Archival Closet; Archival box labelled Misc. Records #3